Remedial Driving Courses


The Safety Council of Southwestern Ohio provides state-approved remedial driving courses for both adults and juveniles: 


  • The 8-hour Adult Remedial Course meets the requirements for a 12-point license reinstatement, a reinstatement for operating a motor vehicle after underage consumption and a 2-point credit in Ohio.
  • The 4-hour Adult ABBREVIATED Remedial Driving ONLINE Course meets the requirements for drivers 18 and older who fail Ohio's driving test. 
  • The 6-hour Juvenile Remedial Course meets the requirements for license reinstatement after obtaining two and three traffic convictions before reaching 18 years of age.

Drive Safely

4-hour Abbreviated Online Classes

The Abbreviated Adult Driving Course is an Ohio requirement for all drivers 18 or older who have not previously held a driver's license and who failed the Ohio driver's test (either the maneuverability or driving part).  A completion certificate showing successful completion of an approved course must be presented before you are given another attempt at the Ohio driving test.


The abbreviated course provided by the Safety Council is a 4-hour, state-approved, online course that you can take at home. After taking the online course you are required to perform 24 hours of driving with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older before you can retake your driving test.  


The course fee is $75.00, payable online upon registration.

How to Enroll:

  1. Click the orange button below to go to the enrollment page
  2. Follow the instructions to register a new user account with your email address and password
  3. Once you complete the 4 hour online program, you will be mailed a certificate. 
  4. Before the second attempt at the driving test, provide the certificate of completion and a notarized Twenty-Four Hour Affidavit (form BMV 5789) to confirm the 24 hours in car driving.



8-hour Adult Classes

The 8-hour Adult Remedial Course meets the requirements for a 12-point license reinstatement, a reinstatement for operating a motor vehicle after underage consumption and a 2-point credit in Ohio.

This course is for you if any of the following apply:
 

  • If you have a suspension for accumulating 12 points on your driving record within a two year period.
  • If you were convicted of operating a motor vehicle after underage consumption.
  • If you have been referred by a municipal court.
  • If you have been required by the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles to take a remedial driver improvement program.
  • You have been required by your employer to take a driver improvement program.
  • You have between 2-11 points on your record and would like to apply for a two point credit.
  • You have been required by another state to take a driver improvement program.
 
The complete reinstatement procedures from the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles can be found here.

Course Details

  • Call (513) 423-9758 to reserve your space in class
  • Class begins at 8:30 a.m. — doors open at 8:15 a.m.
  • Participants must present identification at the start of class
  • You will receive a certificate of completion at the end of the course
  • Course fee is $110 – payable in cash on day of class (no checks)
  • The course is certified by the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Enroll Online

Ready to sign up for a course? Pay for your Adult Remedial Driving Course online with your credit or debit card and save $20.00! 


Simply fill out the form below and click Pay Now to register and submit your secure payment. 

Desired course date (Adult Remedial):
Name of person enrolling:
Contact phone number:


6-hour Juvenile Classes

The 6-hour Juvenile Remedial Course meets the state requirements for license reinstatement after obtaining two and three traffic convictions before reaching 18 years of age.

This course is for you if any of the following apply:
 

  • If you have a Probationary Two Revocation – which means you have been convicted of two separate moving violations in any two year period prior to reaching 18 years of age
  • If you have a Probationary Three Revocation – which means you have been convicted of three separate moving violations in any two year period prior to reaching 18 years of age
  • If you have been referred by a juvenile court
  • If you have been required by the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles to take a juvenile driver improvement program (Note:  The course cannot be taken before the mailing date of the suspension letter)
  • You have been required by another state to take a driver improvement program

Course Details

  • Call (513) 423-9758 to reserve your space in class
  • Class are from 9:00am – 3:30pm. Doors open at 8:45am
  • Participants must present identification at the start of class
  • You will receive a certificate of completion at the end of the course
  • Course fee is $75 – payable in cash on day of class (no checks), or online using the Pay Now link on this page
  • The course is certified by the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Enroll Online

Ready to enroll in your Juvenile Remedial Driving Class? Simply fill out the form below and click Pay Now to register and submit your secure payment.

Desired course date (Juvenile):
Name of person enrolling:
Contact phone number:


Desktop Site